Due Diligence and Ongoing Monitoring

View Only
  • 1.  Queries on Risk monitoring & residual risk

Posted 07-26-2023 08:24 AM

Dear Forum Members,

I am a beginner in this domain. Hence may ask very simple questions. Please help me to understand and progress:

1. During onboarding and ongoing stage, is it suggested to use the same vendor risk questionnaire during inherent risk assessment, vendor due diligence, contract review and further risk re-assessments. Or different questionnaire is supposed to be used in all these vital events?
    2. Post obtaining the residual risk rating what are the succeeding activities as a TPRM managers we are supposed to carry out.

• 2.  RE: Queries on Risk monitoring & residual risk

Posted 07-26-2023 09:18 AM
    1. For us, it comes down to how our technology scores the risks - we have to have one questionnaire with conditional questions based upon the services that are provided to ultimately derive the total risk score. But, to answer the question, there should be question sets that are based specifically on the third-party, the services it provides (technology, cloud, fair lending, consulting, legal, etc.) and how they will complete the services (US based employees, US contractors, off-shore resources, etc.)
    2. Once the residual risk is ascertained, you should be monitoring for emerging risks (market, interest rates, social unrest, political, legislative, etc.), events (cyber, disaster, etc.), third-party specific risks (poor financial reports, being acquired, regulatory actions, complaints, etc.), contract monitoring, insurance expiration monitoring, new services that are added without going through a new due-diligence/risk assessment - just to name the most important.

• 3.  RE: Queries on Risk monitoring & residual risk

Posted 07-27-2023 08:22 AM

Thanks for your response. But the query was different.