Due Diligence and Ongoing Monitoring

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Redundant Documents

• 1.  Redundant Documents

Posted 06-06-2022 11:43 AM
    Hi all, 

I'm new to the Vendor Management world, so forgive me if this question is ignorant: 

I am wondering what your thought process/approach is when gathering documents for a risk assessment, initial due diligence, etc. Specifically, do you request policies such as Information Security Policies, Background Check Policies, etc. when they may be defined within a SOC Report?

Or, do you typically request these documents only if it is not listed in a SOC report? Basically, I am trying to determine if a policy being detailed in a SOC report is typically 'good enough' to satisfy obtaining specific policies. Until now, I've been requesting specific policies, only to find them detailed within the SOC report, so I didn't know if asking for both was a redundant effort. 

Thanks!

• 2.  RE: Redundant Documents

Posted 06-06-2022 11:51 AM
    Honestly I would say just the SOC report. If they don't have a SOC yet or if you have any special policy concerns related to your line of business, then go for the individual policies.

• 3.  RE: Redundant Documents

Posted 06-06-2022 12:05 PM

Welcome to the exciting world :) 

Points to covered when your requesting for documents :

My approach is in 2 ways if your doing a audit for a vendor :

1. If you're sending SIG ( Lite / High ) which is questionnaire to vendor based on the response from the vendor, you can request the proofs.

2nd Approach

If your doing in without any tool

1. MSA / SOW - To find out the contract / Clauses within the project . Start date & end date of the project.
    2. Understand the business / Service / Product which is outsourced from your organization.
    3. Understand all the policy which are intact with your contract & organization.
    4. Check for the exceptional controls which are mentioned in the SOC 2 report.