Due Diligence and Ongoing Monitoring

View Only
  • 1.  NPPI, PII

This message was posted by a user wishing to remain anonymous
    Posted 10-21-2022 11:08 AM

Hello everybody,

I am fairly new to TPRM, so forgive me for asking this question.
    What does it mean when they say does the vendor: 

Process, Store, Manage, View/Add/modify, Transport, Disposable of, Transmit NPPI?

I understand many of our vendor have access to or we share with them our clients NPPI. 
    What I am confused about is for example does a vendor who is a Web-Based Cloud File Transfer System provider, fall under any of the above categories.  Our TPRM program has our accounting software, LexisNexis, even Refinitiv (Thomas Reuters) and ALLL software provider as having access to NPPI. 

Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.

• 2.  RE: NPPI, PII

Posted 10-21-2022 12:38 PM
    Hello,

I am also fairly new, however for our program we restrict our definition of NPI to only consumer or client information.
    The information should also as the name implies be nonpublic, but a list of consumers for your organization could qualify as NPI so I would be a bit cautious.

As far as labeling every software as having access to NPI, I would caution that approach due to the specific reporting requirements when sensitive client or consumer information is accessed without authorization.

A File Transfer System for client or consumer information I would classify as NPI, but an employee record I would not classify as holding NPI.

I hope that helps.

• 3.  RE: NPPI, PII

Posted 10-21-2022 12:39 PM

Good Morning.